Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Only Survivors, by Megan Miranda

Secrets – and plenty of them!

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Hiking Trip, by Jenny Blackhurst

5 out of 5 stars. Slow burning suspense and a matryoshka doll of deceptions.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Villa, by Rachel Hawkins

The Villa by Rachel Hawkins My rating: 4 of 5 stars Well! The word “switcheroo” popped into my head, more than once, when I finished listening to the Audiobook ARC of The Villa by Rachel Hawkins – ably narrated by Julia Whelan, Kimberly M. Wetherell and Shiromi Arserio. I did a few double-takes during the […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Redemption Games [John Rain #4], by Barry Eisler

Funny story to start this off: it seems that all assassins in novel series are named John, like John Milton. Or John Rain, whose specialty it is to make the death look natural. (There are also the Jacks, like Reacher or Widow – they’re not assassin’s, they’re drifters. It’s a small and simple world out […]

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

The Cursed Treasure [Travers and Redmond #2], by Desmond G. Palmer

3.5 out of 5 stars. A story that wants to be a lot of things simultaneously. Recommended if you crave some popcorn movie feeling in the shape of literature.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

No Plan B [Jack Reacher #27], by Lee Child and Andrew Child

5 out of 5 stars. Classic Reacher at it’s best, twisting and thrilling plot.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Old Man, by Thomas Perry

4 out of 5 stars. Great thriller that missed some potentials on side characters.

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

Ghosts (John Milton #4), by Mark Dawson

The fourth installment of this series sees John still running from the Group, but also united with former enemies now turned instable allies. It’s a classical trope in thriller literature, where friend becomes enemy, and enemy becomes friend – and maybe turn to enemy again. Or maybe in the world of spycraft and international assassins, […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Gatekeeper (Dez Limerick #1), by James Byrne

4 out of 5. High octane thriller that’s most likely the start to a new series. Fans of Reacher and Orphan X might want to dig in.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Finlay Donovan Knocks ‘Em Dead (Finlay Donovan # 2), by Elle Cosimano

Finlay Donovan, amateur assassing for hire, is baaaaaack!!!!