Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Lessons in Chemistry, by Bonnie Garmus

Outstandingly incredible writing! Quirky in the very best way! Unputdownable! I absolutely loved this sometimes hilarious, often tragic story! Lessons in Chemistry portrays almost every woman’s plight on this earth – rolled into the harrowing life experiences of one indomitable female scientist: you could not keep Elizabeth Zott down! I would line up to buy […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Gatekeeper (Dez Limerick #1), by James Byrne

4 out of 5. High octane thriller that’s most likely the start to a new series. Fans of Reacher and Orphan X might want to dig in.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Woman in the Library, by Sulari Gentill

This book is set to be published on June 7th, 2022. This book is somewhat hard to define, genre wise. The jacket label seems to define it clearly as a mystery (of the locked room variety, at first glance), but I would add meta fiction to the mix. Because it is a book about writing […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Why fish don’t exist, by Lulu Miller

A story of loss, love and the hidden order of life – that’s what I’ve been promised. And the prologue digs right into the theme of loss by bringing upon us the second law of thermodynamics. You probably know it – and if you don’t, you better get to know to it: Lulu Miller is […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Love of My Life, by Rosie Walsh.

I knew Rosie Walsh had the makings of a great writer – from start to finish.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Knight Blind [Jorja Knight #1], by Alice Bienia

Mysteries with strong female leads seem to be a stable standard of the literature industry by now. I applaud this – in my experience as a reader, a female lead usually means there is a strong emphasis on the mystery part, and that’s just what I want to read when the days are short and […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Poppy War, by R. F. Kuang

5 out of 5 stars. Angry Gods, grimdark characters and shocking war scenes

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch

5 out of 5 stars. Fantasy Heist at its finest!

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

VICIOUS, by V.E. Schwab

5 out of 5 stars. Meet an epic Science Fiction with dark academy vibes.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Finlay Donovan Knocks ‘Em Dead (Finlay Donovan # 2), by Elle Cosimano

Finlay Donovan, amateur assassing for hire, is baaaaaack!!!!