Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

The Lost Voyager [Carson Mach #2], by A.C. Hadfield

3.5 out of 5 stars. Space opera for the junkie.

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

The Atlantis Ship [Carson Mach #1], by A.C. Hadfield

3 stars. Solid space pulp delivering on all the cliches. Pew pew pew!

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

Ghosts (John Milton #4), by Mark Dawson

The fourth installment of this series sees John still running from the Group, but also united with former enemies now turned instable allies. It’s a classical trope in thriller literature, where friend becomes enemy, and enemy becomes friend – and maybe turn to enemy again. Or maybe in the world of spycraft and international assassins, […]

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

Amongst our weapons (Rivers of London, #9), by Ben Aaronovitch

3.5 out of 5. A solid part of the series, but lacking in inventiveness – and with a whiff of hastily writing at the end.

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

Less (Less #1), by Andrew Sean Greer

3.5 out of 5 stars. It’s a beautiful albeit slow journey to the self.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Gatekeeper (Dez Limerick #1), by James Byrne

4 out of 5. High octane thriller that’s most likely the start to a new series. Fans of Reacher and Orphan X might want to dig in.

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

The Woman in the Library, by Sulari Gentill

This book is set to be published on June 7th, 2022. This book is somewhat hard to define, genre wise. The jacket label seems to define it clearly as a mystery (of the locked room variety, at first glance), but I would add meta fiction to the mix. Because it is a book about writing […]

Categories
Top Tier (4 to 5 stars)

Why fish don’t exist, by Lulu Miller

A story of loss, love and the hidden order of life – that’s what I’ve been promised. And the prologue digs right into the theme of loss by bringing upon us the second law of thermodynamics. You probably know it – and if you don’t, you better get to know to it: Lulu Miller is […]

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

Into the Mist [Into the Mist #1], by P.C. Cast

3 out of 5 stars. Like a feminist manifesto turned into a B movie Roadtrip. But it’s a good B movie if you remember not to take it too seriously – read it like it’s pulp fiction!

Categories
Good books (2.5 to 3.5)

The Decadents, by M.C. Schmidt

3 out of 5 stars. If you want to read a great story, stop reading after the first third.